Guard Is Life!

Thanks to a box of memories my mom sent me, I had a fit of nostalgia the other night. One of the things I came across was a program from a TOB (Tournament Of Bands, for those not from band/Delaware/a combination of the two) from when Beth and I were teaching colorguard. First off….it made me miss teaching. A lot. And then it made me miss guard. A LOT. It made me miss my girls. A LOT. It made me miss “annie’s happy dance” and stupid annie sayings (like yelling out “boys like buff wrists!” to a bunch of high school girls inches away from their mothers…..) It made me miss my own instructors who helped shaped my life. Not just my colorguard skills…my life. You all mean the world to me, and I would not be who I am today if it were not for you.

Lastly, this little poem/prayer I found in the program made me miss that part of my life more than words can possibly say. So for everyone who has ever been in guard, taught gaurd, known someone that ever liked guard, or anyone who has a passing familiarity with the weirdness that is colorguard (like after they realize that crap they were climbing over in my car was a 6 foot flag pole, a rifle and a sabre……)this is for you. Enjoy. 🙂

A Color Guard Prayer

Let me be ready when the music stars,

To forget about the sweaty palms, the beating of my heart.

Let me nail every toss that I throw into space, even though half the time, I have a flag in my face.

Help me to recover gracefully if I should fall.

Don’t let my instructors punch any judges through the wall.

And after we’ve done that final spin, and the crowd befings to roar, let my family yell and scream……

THIS is what they’ve been paying for!

🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 23:35:35

    Aww good times! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

